Ride Kink - 2010

/images/brands/ride/logo/ride_logo.gif

If you live for small to medium park kickers and street rails, there aren’t many snowboards more suitable and certainly none more punk than the Ride Kink. A seasoned Jib machine with soft longitudinal and torsional flex.

Manufacturer's Description:

The Park Ruler. Built to withstand numerous park beatings, this rail destroyer features Ride’s durable Cleave Edge and impact absorbing 85A Slimewalls. Now with Ride’s new Radial BlendZ sidecut for truer tracking into transitions and jibs, our definitive jib deck is better than ever at a price you can’t beat.

Recommended for park riding. Recommended for rail riding Medium cost snowboard Available in Wide Camber construction Twin shape

Year: 2010

Available Lengths (cm):
147, 152, 155, 158, 153W, 156W, 159W

Riding Style: Freestyle/Park

Specifications:

Twin shape
Radial BlendZ sidecut
Centered stance
Thin Con
85A Slimewalls
Foundation Tuned Core
Cleave Edge
Biaxial glass
Fusion 1500 sintered base

Similar boards: K2 WWW Rocker - 2010 Signal Park Series - 2010 Nitro Sub Zero - 2010 GNU Street Series BTX - 2010

Ride Kink Snowboard - Men's
Ride Snowboards
$429.95
Ride Kink Snowboard - Men's
Ride Snowboards
$429.95
Ride Kink Snowboard - Men's
Ride Snowboards
$429.95
Ride Kink

User Snowboard Reviews

Want some advice, or have a question about the Ride Kink snowboard, or whether it is right for you? DON'T POST HERE! Head over to our snowboard forums and our community will be happy to help.

Seriously - READ THE ABOVE..., the snowboard forum the best way to get your question seen by all of our community and an answer, rather than just those who happen to view this page.

However, if you have ridden this snowboard and want to share your feedback, then please add your experience below. It helps to add as much detail as possible, e.g board length you used, bindings, rider stats etc.

Post a review of this snowboard:

Remember my personal information?
Notify me of follow-ups to this snowboard review?

Submit the word you see below:

What colour is powder?

grabowskik on July 25, 2009 at 08:03 AM

What are people opinions on this?

I heard its a heavy board, anybody agree? Is it any different from previous years? Good on jumps as well? Inform me.

Tom Ewbank on July 27, 2009 at 03:50 PM

It didn’t feel particularly heavy when I took if for a spin; it’s got a pretty mellow flex and is missing some of the pop that all-mountain boards have got but in fairness it sticks to rails like a train. I guess it’s this mellow flex pattern which could make people associate the board with being a bit heavy. Also, a few years back Ride built the Kink with a denim topsheet; unfortunately although it looked sick it absorbed an awful lot of water so riding in the spring made riders feel they were strapped to an Oil Tanker…..guess over the years people have associated it with that.

Like the majority of other jib boards out there the Kink has been built of strong durable materials; it’s very unlikely that a brand will stick lighter materials like honeycomb and carbon in the core of a jib specific board as it’s very brittle (they’d have too many warranties on their hands), the urethane sidewalls will also be slightly thicker to preserve your core and edges.

If you want a lighter jib board you could have a look at the K2 Jibpan, which is more expensive, but a board like the kink will probably last a little longer, if you’re hitting rails all the time, because of its construction.

Danny on August 12, 2009 at 04:01 PM

Hi there:

I am deciding to buy a new park board to substitute a Rome Machine. I´m 6,4 and 205 pounds, and not sure about getting the Ride Kink wide 159 or Ride Crush wide 159 for riding rails,boxes and mid-size kickers ( 25-35 ft).

I would like to get a softer board than the 07-08 Machine.Any suggestions??

Thankxx

Rich Ewbank on August 13, 2009 at 02:38 PM

Hi Danny,

Yeah the Kink has got a reputation for being pretty sick on the rails and the smaller jumps. Only thing I’ve got to say, is that for fast progression and a forgiving ride on rails and smaller jumps, it’s all about the rockers, although it’s best for stability on rails not to get too much banana! Also 205 lbs is quite heavy for the crush, it’s got quite light construction, you might need a board with a bit more kahunas. I’d look at the Ride DH2 159W, Lib Tech Skate Banana 159W, Gnu Park Pickle 159W (got magnetraction, assy sidecut and rocker) or the wide verion of the Never Summer Evo-R, you could ride that at around a 159W and it would still offer plenty of pop, as it’s got the double camber profile, plus it’s got a 3 year warranty.. so much to choose from!

Danny on August 14, 2009 at 04:34 PM

Hi there again:

Would K2 Parkstar wide a good alternative?? What would size 157 right for me or better 160??

Thankxx again for your help!!

Happy riding

Danny

Rich Ewbank on August 14, 2009 at 06:04 PM

Yeah, I was thinking about the Parkstar, but I rode it out in Kaunertal in the 157 and it was an absolute joy, but kind of on the softer side. Not ridiculously soft but you’re about 35lbs heavier than me and half a foot taller! I have a feeling you’ll need something a bit more built. Possibly something with some carbon in to stiffen it up so it doesn’t fold up when you’re turning on it. Don’t be tempted to go too small, it really doesn’t do all that good to your riding or what you can ride. The pros who are rocking 152s and 154s are about 3ft tall and about 140lbs.

Nate on December 13, 2009 at 11:10 PM

I’ve been rocking a Ride Kink for years, and have ridden the 06-07 model (first board), 08-09 model, and this year’s model.  It’s a great board for rails and boxes.  Practically impossible to slip out on, and light and small enough to make it ideal for smaller jumps and drops.  Don’t take it into powder, obviously, but it’s one hell of a jibstick, and just keeps getting better.

I think the denim one was the 07-08 model, and yeah, I heard that it absorbed water like a champ on slushy days, which made it a bitch to ride because of the weight.

Think snow, Nate

Adam on February 01, 2010 at 08:12 AM

Hi went out to my hilly mountain in the forest and tried boarding for the first time and loved it have skiid for 10years now and I finally realized how gay it was but anyways i’m just wondering when you guys are saying smaller jumps how big r u talking about of a gap thanks

Travis "The Asian" on August 29, 2010 at 11:46 PM

Hey i got the kink last year at the end of the season, I was riding on a peice of crap morrow trooper free ride board, i cracked the coar on a C rail… SO i got this board right before a freestyle competition at shantycreek. Within 30 minutes I relized thsi board was amazing. Its flex is very nice, and the board is slightly heavy, but its not bad at all… I have used a k2 WWW Rocker, an d i woudl ahve to say the kink was better, the rocker was nice, but i like the camber style more than A rocker the board rode rails amazingly… You barely relize your actually on the rail, your baord will glide with the rail, its very nice… On kickers about 30ft. The humps were quite smooth and slowed down, landing was very nice with the flex… I woudl say this is one of the best jib board son the market, if you ahve any question or concerns or anything about this review contact me… or reply to this or something lol… I will Be looking forward to a 2011 model if its made…

Tristan on October 07, 2010 at 07:04 AM

I recently got this board but haven’t ridden it yet I’m a real park fanatic but I was wondering how well the kink will hold up on larger jumps and also at higher speeds?

Page 1 of 2.  1 2 > 
Connect: