Best setup for Intermediate Rider?

astrododo

Snowboard Virgin
Rank
Total Posts: 1 Joined 2009-11-25

Posted: 25 November 2009 04:24 PM

I’ve been riding for about 7 years now, but I’ve only been able to board once or twice a year. Now, I’ve moved to Boston and I’m planning on hitting the slopes more often. Up to now I’ve rented or borrowed gear from friends, so I don’t know anything about buying a board. I’m looking for an all mountain board as I mostly hit groomers with the occasional trip to the park (and very occasionally get lucky with some east coast powder).

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Please help us filling out the following template for best possible buying advice!

I am looking for:

[*] Board
  [*] Binding
  [*] regular straps
  [  ] fast-entry system (Flow/Cinch/..)
  [*] Boots
  [  ] Other

Measurements:

Body height:  180 cm
  Weight:    160 lbs
  Shoe size:  10.5 US

Riding level:

[  ] Beginner
  [*] Intermediate
  [  ] Advanced
  [  ] Expert

Riding style: (multiple selections allowed)

[*] Piste   [80] %
  [*] Powder   [10] %
  [*] Park   [10] %
  [  ] Rails   [ ] %

Special requests: Any of the boards available for sale at www.sierrasnowboards.com any good for me?

Price Limit:    [800] $

Tom Ewbank

Administrator
Tom Ewbank Avatar
RankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts: 115 Joined 2009-03-04

Posted: 27 November 2009 01:51 PM

If you’re moving to Boston then I guess you’ll get a bit more riding in…...you therefore need a board that is going to allow you to progress fairly quickly and take your riding to the next level. As you’re an East coast shredder I can imagine that progression is really going to involve developing your skills in the park and also giving those rails a go. This doesn’t mean that you’ll have to compromise too much on piste (groomers) performance. Below is a list of boards that might be worth a look considering your specs, have a look at the reviews on the website: