First Board and bindings and could use some advice!

Justin_p

Snowboard Virgin
Rank
Total Posts: 4 Joined 2010-11-17

Posted: 17 November 2010 06:16 AM

Howdy all!

Got a few questions that I’m hoping someone can give me some advice on.  First, I’ve been snowboarding off and on for about 8 years but never owned a board because I only go about 3-4 times a year and always rented… :-(  .  BUT, times have changed and its time for me to get a board!

I’m 6’2, 215-220lbs and I wear a size 12 shoe.  I’ve been reading around that i’m going to need a wide board and have found a few that I like and was wondering if anybody had any advice/thoughts on them or suggestions for others.  I’m trying to keep the price under $400, but would consider going a little higher if there was a huge difference in board quality.

I know that I’m probably going to want an all-mountain freestyle board that i can take into the park as i get better.  The boards i’ve been looking at are:

Burton Deuce 163W
K2 Anagram 163W
K2 Raygun 164W (available in 160w)

Found a 2010 Burton Custom (162W) that’s a 2nd for only $300, but the size table says that a 162W is for riders 150lbs - 200lbs so i wasn’t sure if this one would be alright for me.
I also found 2010’s model of the Forum Image 161W for only $191, but I know nothing of Forum snowboards.

Like I said above, I’m also open to any suggestions on any other board!

I’ve also seen that if i didn’t want to go with a wide board i could go with binding risers, but I’ve not seen anybody comment on this.  Does this change the way a board rides?  Would anybody recommend this or recommend I don’t do this?  Only reason I’m asking is b/c i’ve seen regular boards with a waist width of like 1-1.5cm less than the wide boards and didn’t really know how much that 1-1.5cm actually hurts.