Lib Tech Travis Rice BTX - 2010

http://www.snowboard-review.com/images/brands/libtech/logo/libtech_logo.gif

Travis Rice is the most ground breaking rider on the planet. His board might just help to explain some of his superhuman skills. An all-mountain snowboard with a firm but forgiving flex that’ll take you from the deepest of powder to iciest of pipes.

Manufacturer's Description:

Travis’ contest winning, valley leaping, Alaska ripping, Jackson Hole freeride & jib stick.100% shredtassium for sliding in and out of tricky situations with ease in all type of riding conditions: hardpack, park, pipe, pow, rails, and even ice.

For psychoLOGICAL shredding advantages, Travis continues to have two shapes: a pow-specific pointy 161.5 & 164.5 (BTX & MTX) and a park/jib-specific blunt 153 & 157 (BTX & MTX). And of course, factory de-tuned to Travis’ specs!

Recommended for park riding. Recommended for halfpipe riding Recommended for freeride riding High cost snowboard Rocker construction Directional Shape

Year: 2010


Available Lengths (cm):
153, 157, 161.5, 164.5


Riding Style:
All Mountain


Specifications:

CORRECT SANDWICH: Low spin weight!
C2 POWER BANANA TECH: (all sizes!) Control between your feet!
MAGNE-TRACTION: Turns ice into powder!
BEANS: Bio-Plastic top skin: strong, light, renewable!
AXIS INVERSION FIBERGLASS SYSTEM: Mysto tech, more pop!
H-POP CORE: Performance!
POWER TRANSFER INTERNAL SIDEWALLS: More pop!
DOUBLE SINTERED UHMW SIDEWALLS: Tough!
SINTERED UHMW BASE: Fast!


Similar boards:
K2 Turbo Dream - 2010
Signal Omni Series - 2010
Bataleon Goliath - 2010

Lib Tech Travis Rice BTX

Snowboard Review:

Pipe, Kickers, Powders and Pistes, the Travis Rice dominates every part of snowboarding. Up the pipe walls the medium/firm torsional and longitudinal flex and Magnetraction edges provided ample grip and slightly tail heavy landings were popped back into the vert in a forgiving manner. Hitting kickers the rocker profile provided a buttery feel through frontside spins providing plenty of pop and forgiving landings, backside spins initiated easily and carving into backside spins resulted in a less aggressive toeside carve through the kicker,  perfect for powder or summer camp kickers. In the air the blunted tip and tail reduced swing weight. Blasting down the pistes the rocker profile put me at ease, gone are the days of catching edges at the speed of sound. Despite being only 157 the Trice certainly rode more like a 159 providing more stability at speed than it’s length would suggest. Carves initiated easily and riding the Trice aggressively rewarded me with great acceleration out of carves. In deeper snow the rocker profile kept the nose well out of harms way, even with a nearly centred stance. The Trice wasn’t too stiff to butter around the pistes and even locked onto a variety of board slides and presses on down rails and boxes.

If you’re looking for aboard to ride all conditions and all disciplines you can’t go wrong with the Trice. Anyone from a seasoned rider to an intermediate learning to spin on 3 meter tables will love riding the Lib Tech Travis Rice. In the words of Gold Member, ‘It’s a keeper’.

Posted by Rich Ewbank in • Lib Tech

User Snowboard Reviews

Want some advice, or have a question about the Lib Tech Travis Rice BTX snowboard, or whether it is right for you? DON'T POST HERE! Head over to our snowboard forums and our community will be happy to help.

Seriously - READ THE ABOVE..., the snowboard forum the best way to get your question seen by all of our community and an answer, rather than just those who happen to view this page.

However, if you have ridden this snowboard and want to share your feedback, then please add your experience below. It helps to add as much detail as possible, e.g board length you used, bindings, rider stats etc.

Post a review of this snowboard:

Remember my personal information?
Notify me of follow-ups to this snowboard review?

Submit the word you see below:

What colour is snow?

Phillop on October 04, 2009 at 10:03 PM

Hey, I was wondering if someone could help me. I am devoted to riding but recently my board became unusable. I do not want to spend more than about $300, but I want a board that will not hamper my performance. If anyone knows anything about these snowboards:

http://www.the-house.com/9854k2wt7zz-k2-willie.html

http://www.the-house.com/9852clcwzz-capita-lcw.html

could you please send me something?

Rich Ewbank on October 05, 2009 at 01:46 PM

Both pretty old boards… at least 3 seasons old a piece. I’d be looking for more discount than that! Tyler Lepore is only a little chap and 152 is quite small, what are your stats?

Chris on May 18, 2010 at 07:26 PM

Hi, im mainly a park man, and i do alot of rails but i need a board that can handle high performance piste work for my ISIA technical examinations end of next season, ive just found this board on sale somewhere but its listed as MTX, is this board only made with BTX & MTX as i really want the rocker shape, plus can it handle rails good as i dont want a board thats a handful for jibbing

Rich Ewbank on May 18, 2010 at 08:53 PM

Hi Chris,

I’m going to leave Tom to help you with this one. Just to summarise my experiences of the T-Rice, it’s got a medium flex torsionally amd longitudinally… maybe slightly firmer than medium. Great for hammering around the groomers, hitting jumps and laying waste to backcountry booters, but not ideal for rails. Watch travis riding and you’ll get what the board is all about. The MTX board will be harder work to ride than the C2 BTX.

Tom Ewbank on May 18, 2010 at 09:57 PM

Easy Chris,

You’ve definitely come to the right website as I’m currently in the process of finishing off my BASI ISIA exams and know all about what makes a good board for your ISIA tech. The T-Rice is a great board and it’d probably be absolutely fine but remember that the main focus for improvement during your level 3 tech will probably be short turns, variables and adding new technique to your piste performance (i.e. Dolphin turns). Using a narrower corridor, showing more fore and aft movement, and really making the most of foot pedalling might be easier on a slightly softer board. It also won’t be the easiest board for jibbing about. You might also want to consider a cambered board or rocker hybrid as they perform better when carving and give you more energy coming out of turns. The boards I’d recommend are:

GNU Riders Choice Rossignol Angus (Amptek Rocker) K2 Darkstar Next seasons Rossi Decoy (Amptek rocker!) Next seasons Stepchild Headless Horseman (Bamboo makes up for a rocker shape) Stepchild JP Walker (Check ‘Magic Toast’ as they’ve got good deals going at the mo)

Hope this helps,

Tom

Chris on May 19, 2010 at 12:15 AM

Hi Tom, Youre the man i need to talk to then. Im doing the BASI ISIA too, i really want to get a twin tip like i usually ride as i want to be doing my usual riding throughout the season in the park, mainly rails/boxes and medium sized kickers im not good with sizes but sizable enought to get 5s & 7s comfortably or a hucked 9, dunno if thats a good description haha. I kinda figured the T Rice wasnt gonna my kinda board. Im looking boards around the 53-56 mark no bigger no smaller. you seen any boards poking around in the uk that fit the bill? every board i go for sells out just before i get it (Park Pickle/slayblade)

Also, so you’re saying i dont really need a high performance board for the tech? i was really hoping that would be the case and i could get away with a more jibby/park Twin board.

Any Help greatly appreciated as id like to find a board now so i dont have to pay crazy amounts next season

Chris on May 19, 2010 at 12:45 AM

couple of boards ive been looking at (and the only few boards that i like the look of that are in stock in uk): Bataleon Evil Twin 155 Capita Indoor Survival FK 154 although you said these 2 felt a bit slow edge to edeg? Rome Agent 154 Forum Youngblood 154 Capita Horrorscope 155 Capita Stairmaster 154

no doubt most of them will actually be out of stock because no one updates their websites these days, but if you could tell me if any of those could get me through the course ok? a few of them in order would be good ;)

cheers

Tom Ewbank on May 19, 2010 at 10:59 AM

Hey Chris,

If I was you I’d probably avoid the Evil Twin purely because the triple base means they’re not quite as responsive from edge to edge, they feel very mellow in short turns and carves.

The Youngblood and Agent might be alright but in my opionion there are slightly better boards on the market for around that price.

If I was you I’d seriously consider the Stepchild JP Walker….this board can honestly do everything very well, it was in our list of top 10 park boards for the 09/10 season. Go to www.magictoast.com and they’ve got a 154 on there for £270.

Chris on May 19, 2010 at 12:24 PM

I thought that about the bataleon, how soft is the Jp Walker as i do really do alot of buttering/jib style piste riding and i dont want a board thats too stiff. which is why i was gearing towards rocker boards, but if you think this is the business and itll do everything i want and the ISIA tech then ill give them a call later to check stock, if they dont have it which of the other boards would you recommend?

Sorry about all this, just stressing me out that everytime i find the perfect board its out of stock and i have to relook :(

Tom Ewbank on May 19, 2010 at 12:30 PM

Well if JP Walker rides it it’s hardly gonna be a stiff freeride board!!! Don’t be put off by the fact this board has a camber….it’ll aid you on your coarse. If they don’t have it then I’d look at the Agent or the Darkstar…....or the Head Team i.

But remember this is only my personal opinion.

Page 1 of 3.  1 2 3 > 
Connect:

Latest Snowboard News + Features:

Amplid Announces the World’s Lightest Split Posted October 18, 2013 by Rich Ewbank

Snowboard-Review 2014 Gear Preview Posted May 21, 2013 by Rich Ewbank

Spring Break - Test for Yourself Posted March 28, 2013 by Rich Ewbank

The Endeavor Archetype Lab Posted December 21, 2012 by Rich Ewbank

Voile Split Decision Review Posted November 18, 2012 by Rich Ewbank

Venture Euphoria Wins Backcountry Mag Award Posted August 29, 2012 by Rich Ewbank

Sh*t is Hot - 2013 Never Summer Preview Posted August 09, 2012 by Rich Ewbank

Signal ETT Best of Season 2 Posted July 19, 2012 by Rich Ewbank

**************

CLICK FOR MORE SNOWBOARD + FEATURES