Bataleon The Jam - 2010

http://www.snowboard-review.com/images/brands/bataleon/logo/bataleon_logo.gif

A freestyle focused board that’ll kill it all over the mountain. Beefed up with Quadraxial glass and carbon stringers, Bataleon’s ‘The Jam’ is suited to those hitting the bigger kickers in the park, or throwing it down on backcountry kickers with choppy landings.

Manufacturer's Description:

You don’t need to worry about this board getting the funnies when you point it down. The Jam is so responsive it’s like having your finger on the trigger with the safety off. Just think it and it will happen. With this kind of Jedi mind/body/board connection you would be excused to think that the Force is strong in this one. Truth is: it’s all about space age Triple Base Tech. Light years ahead of the pack with serious future board dynamics, combining the best of positive camber’s responsiveness with the best of triple base concave shaped nose and tail.

Recommended for park riding. Recommended for halfpipe riding Recommended for freeride riding High cost snowboard Available in Wide Camber construction Directional twin shape

Year: 2010

Available Lengths (cm):
157, 161, 164, 157W, 161W

Riding Style: Freestyle/Park

Specifications:

Poplar & Birch core with sidecut active hardwood enforcements along the sidewall. Extra reinforced impact zones in binding areas
Synthered 3000 base (sintered)
Quadraxial glass over and under the core delivers precision to your riding
Carbon stringers
Super Strong sidewalls
Freestyle Tripple Base Technology

Similar boards: Salomon Grip - 2010 Nitro Andreas Wiig - 2010 YES YES. - 2010

Bataleon The Jam

User Snowboard Reviews

Want some advice, or have a question about the Bataleon The Jam snowboard, or whether it is right for you? DON'T POST HERE! Head over to our snowboard forums and our community will be happy to help.

Seriously - READ THE ABOVE..., the snowboard forum the best way to get your question seen by all of our community and an answer, rather than just those who happen to view this page.

However, if you have ridden this snowboard and want to share your feedback, then please add your experience below. It helps to add as much detail as possible, e.g board length you used, bindings, rider stats etc.

Post a review of this snowboard:

Remember my personal information?
Notify me of follow-ups to this snowboard review?

Submit the word you see below:

What colour is powder?

sven on October 29, 2009 at 06:35 AM

When its listed as Freestyle/park, can i assume twin? same with all mountain is that directional???

Rich Ewbank on October 29, 2009 at 11:36 AM

Hi Sven,

The Jam’s a directional twin, so either there os slight directionality in the shape or the flex is designed to be stiffer in the tail and softer in the nose. In the logos, you’ll find the directionality of the board.

Xollob on December 15, 2009 at 03:17 PM

I bought this board after having read reviews of Bataleon. I’ve owned various Burtons over the years. I’ve also had a Never Summer Legacy, Nitro Natural, Santa Cruz, GNU Carbon Series etc. Of the previous boards the Nitro Natural would have been my favourite. My style of riding is rip it as fast as you can. This year I bought the Jam 164 and paired it with a set of Union Force-SL’s. Took it to Tignes/ValD’Isere for four days. This board can ride anything. It has plenty of pop. Carves like a demon. No matter how fast you attack the mountain you always feel in control. The Union Force-SL bindings also help.

So, very happy with the board (not to be too girly, but the colours look the business). Well done Bataleon. I’m recommending to everyone who is interested to ask.

A-Ful on April 19, 2011 at 07:55 PM

I just picked up a 2010 161 Jam at a local shop on closeout, I’d been eyeing it for a while and when they dropped it to 50% off I figured it was time to upgrade.  I’m about 5’ 8”, 160 lbs.  I’ve been riding a high-end 158 Santa Cruz from several years ago, a really stiff and aggressive board, but figured it’s time to try out some of the new technology out there. I’ve been looking at the Lib Tech lineup but was intrigued by the TBT technology of Bataleon so I made the leap.

I wish I’d done this earlier.

I’ve only been on the board for one day but I’m sold.  Conditions were pretty brutal, we’ve had a cycle where it dumped for a couple weeks then rained for several days.  It cooled down by the day I rode it and started dumping so there was a lot of tracked, frozen chunkiness with 4-6” on top of that.  This made for a perfect day to put this deck through its paces.

This board is fast.  I was amazed at how responsive it was at speed through anything.  In the few clean and untracked areas I found it floated like a dream, in the crunchy tracked hell it powered through death cookies like they didn’t exist, on the groomers and bumpy icy spots the board would hold its edge with more force than my legs could give.  I found myself riding significantly faster than normal, with confidence, in all conditions I encountered.

The board is going to take some getting used to, especially because of the TBT tech.  I heard that some people feel like they’ll spin out while standing flat because the edges don’t engage when riding flat and straight.  I felt a little of that, there were a few times where I felt like it was bucking, but it wasn’t extreme and by the end of the day it wasn’t bothering me.  I did notice that in the lift lines I had to stand on my unbuckled foot more than normal, I think I usually dig my edges in a little sideways to lock myself in place, which isn’t as easy with upturned edges…

That said, I’ve read a few comments from people who say TBT makes it “hard” to engage their edges.  I’m guessing those are people who need help lacing up their boots, this board was VERY responsive edge to edge and really held a carve like it was locked to the mountainside, even at the near fatal speeds that I kept finding myself riding.

I’m not sure if it’s the TBT, the flex pattern of the board, the pop, or the fact that I was riding faster than normal, but this thing was boosting me off the hits.  I’m not a park rider, but I try to keep my board off the ground as much as possible by hitting anything I can.  Over and over again I found myself going bigger than I expected (sometimes uncomfortably so), flying farther, and sticking landings both forward and switch with ease.

I was concerned that I picked up a board with technology designed for beginners who can’t ride well enough to avoid catching an edge, but not for the more aggressive stuff I enjoy.  I started riding somewhere around 20 years ago and have been fine with traditional camber boards up to now, so I felt like this board was a bit of a gamble.  After one day with this under my feet I realize that it was a good choice.  I have a feeling that this will be my go-to board, though there may be room in my quiver for a powder specific stick…  Can’t wait for a nice deep day to test this baby out to see if that’ll be necessary.

As you can tell, I’m loving it.  Highly recommended, unless you’re a box and rails person who spends their day in the park buttering around.  It’s a bit stiff for that, though I’m guessing if you’re hitting the big stuff in the park it wouldn’t hurt to have this underneath you as you fall out of the sky.  Thank you Bataleon!

Connect:

Latest Snowboard News + Features:

Amplid Announces the World’s Lightest Split Posted October 18, 2013 by Rich Ewbank

Snowboard-Review 2014 Gear Preview Posted May 21, 2013 by Rich Ewbank

Spring Break - Test for Yourself Posted March 28, 2013 by Rich Ewbank

The Endeavor Archetype Lab Posted December 21, 2012 by Rich Ewbank

Voile Split Decision Review Posted November 18, 2012 by Rich Ewbank

Venture Euphoria Wins Backcountry Mag Award Posted August 29, 2012 by Rich Ewbank

Sh*t is Hot - 2013 Never Summer Preview Posted August 09, 2012 by Rich Ewbank

Signal ETT Best of Season 2 Posted July 19, 2012 by Rich Ewbank

**************

CLICK FOR MORE SNOWBOARD + FEATURES