Burton Mr Nice Guy - 2012

http://www.snowboard-review.com/images/brands/burton/logo/burton_logo.gif

Burton has really got their graphics spot-on on their Restricted range of boards this season. The Mr Nice Guy is a twin shaped, cambered freestyle stick designed with the input of Keegan Valaika. It’s a responsive mid-flexing slopestyle board equally happy in the park as it is taking steep powder laden landings at mach10.

Manufacturer's Description:

Mr. Nice Guy could be anywhere. Lurking in local parks, back alleys, high in the mountains or wherever snowboarding is going down. Don’t let his true twin shape, friendly flex and poppy combo of camber, Squeezebox, and Lightning Bolts fool you. He might seem harmless, but once strapped in, there’s no escape. The Burton Mr. Nice Guy likes Keegan Valaika, but he wants to like you more.

Recommended for park riding. Recommended for halfpipe riding Recommended for rail riding High cost snowboard Available in Wide Camber construction Twin shape

Year: 2012


Available Lengths (cm):
152, 155, 158, 160, 157W


Riding Style:
All Mountain


Specifications:

Camber profile
Infinite Ride Technology
Side Effects
Pro Tips
The Channel
Dual Density Biaxial Fibreglass
10:45 Sidewalls
Sintered base
Squeezebox core profile
Superfly II wood core
Lightning Bolts


Similar boards:
Nitro Thief - 2012
K2 Lifelike - 2012
Forum Bully - 2012
Rome Mod - 2012

Burton Mr Nice Guy

Snowboard Review:

The Burton Mr. Nice Guy is an all around solid board. If you like to have only one board and need the ability to ride any terrain then look no further..

This board replaces last year’s Love series, boards that were aimed at the more advanced park rider. The Nice Guy has everything an advance kicker or pipe jock could need for a whole season, as it won’t confine you to the park. Easily a major highlight to the board is the Lightning Bolt technology, carbon stringers that run from edge-to-edge underneath the bindings helping to transfer pressure to the edge, resulting in an uber responsive ride with impressive grip. In comparison, I found the Nice Guy to be stiffer than last year’s Burton Love, which is a little too stiff for my liking. I found hitting rails on this board to be quite challenging and it’s not as if I usually ride super noodles. However for the kickers and pipe it was sweet!

The Mr Nice Guy runs on a very fast fast sintered base and the new Squeezebox profile and dual density fiberglass combine to create a surprisingly responsive and lively ride. Charging around the mountain and carving up groomers was effortless. Hitting kickers was amazing… have I mentioned that part already?!

Although the Mr Nice Guy was a little too stiff for my liking, it’s a strong contender for any transition /slopestyle monkey that likes a bit more of a stiff flex and finds they need edge hold and stability in varied terrain and less than perfect conditions. I would definitely recommended Burton’s latest addition if you’re the kind of rider with experience who likes to hit bigger features and get as much enjoyment putting your board through carves as you do getting airborne. If however you’re a beginner looking for your first board I’d hold back and look for something a little softer.

Highlights:
Responsive and stable cambered snowboard
Lightning Bolts tech provides loads of grip
All-mountain versatility

Letdowns:
A bit too stiff for rail riding

Posted by Aly Mac in • Burton

User Snowboard Reviews

Want some advice, or have a question about the Burton Mr Nice Guy snowboard, or whether it is right for you? DON'T POST HERE! Head over to our snowboard forums and our community will be happy to help.

Seriously - READ THE ABOVE..., the snowboard forum the best way to get your question seen by all of our community and an answer, rather than just those who happen to view this page.

However, if you have ridden this snowboard and want to share your feedback, then please add your experience below. It helps to add as much detail as possible, e.g board length you used, bindings, rider stats etc.

Post a review of this snowboard:

Remember my personal information?
Notify me of follow-ups to this snowboard review?

Submit the word you see below:

What colour is snow?

Mike on October 11, 2011 at 06:13 AM

Aly, what size board did you demo and how much do you weigh?  I looking into buying this board but don’t want anything stiffer than an uninc. 

Thanks

Rich Ewbank on October 11, 2011 at 08:12 AM

@Mike. I believe Aly rode the 155. He’s only little about 140lbs I reckon. I should think the flex is pretty similar to the cambered Uninc boards of 3-4 seasons ago.

Alican on December 22, 2011 at 10:52 PM

Hello guys i just bought 2012 restricted mr nice guy and im intermediate level snowboarder. I have paid a buckload of money fir the complete set and now im very confused because no good rewievs had been made for this board as far as i see. First of all im not into park snowboarding i always use regular lift zones, no powder snow either. The reason i bought this boar is that its twin flex so that i can board with both directions and i like to 180 while boarding down the slope.

My questions are: 1) for intermediate level would this board cause me trouble with speed?(not bullet speed, cruizing) 2) would i have hard times on responsive turnings? 3) how will it act on ice?

for an intermediate level this board will effect me negatively or i wont feel much difference btw a regular directional board like burton custom 158?

I can return the board and buy custom 158 if you can answer me within today or i will use this 2 days later and will have live with it for 6-7 years.

Board is: mr.nice guy restricted 2012 158 my weight:92kg height:180cm

Thanks in advance(sorry for my english)

Rich Ewbank on December 22, 2011 at 11:41 PM

@Alican - You’ll be better riding the 158 Mr Nice Guy than a 158 Custom whicg you will be too heavy for I think. For cruising groomers, sure a directional snowboard might be a little better but I wouldn’t worry about it too much, the Mr Nice Guy will be lots of fun.

Alican on December 22, 2011 at 11:56 PM

Thanks alot i feel satisfied hearing that! I will postmy comments after i try it thus weekend!!!

Mike on December 23, 2011 at 12:00 AM

Alican,

I bought the board and have now put about 15 days on it.  Previously I have owned (amongst many other boards) a Burton Love, which the Mr Nice Guy is the continuation of.  It’s the exact same board as last years Burton Love with the addition of squeeze box.  That being said, the Burton Love is and has been known as one of the best all mountain freestlye decks around.  Carves extremely well, isn’t too soft and isn’t too stiff = great do everything board and would suit you well as an intermediate while you progress into an advanced rider.  At your weight you will also find the board fairly forgiving.  So to answer your questions, yes it is very responsive, yes it can handle all the speed you will throw at it, and yes it does just fine on ice. As compared to the Burton Custom, don’t stress yourself over it, they ride close enough that you would grow to enjoy whichever board you bought…Custom is a tad stiffer, love is a tad softer which lends itself to flatground tricks, but still handles the whole mountain just fine, even for an expert rider.

The fact that this board has bad reviews (I have seen most of them floating around) shows just how useless internet reviews are..take them with a grain of salt and use your best judgement. Most of the reviews are from someone who demo’d the board, which means they could have been riding a board not ideal for their size, their bidings were ALMOST SURELY not completely dialed in to the board and boots, they may be inexperience, and they may be used to riding a completely different kind of board.  Having your bindings, boots, and board, all fit properly almost never happens when you demo a board and this has a huge impact on how the board rides. 

Angrysnowbarder.com says the board is unresponsive and feels like riding a plank… WHAT!?  The sidecut radius is something like 7.33 on the 152, if that isn’t an aggressive sidecut for a freestlye deck than what is?  I now own this board and I can RAIL turns on it, as much so as I can on any other board of my past ( Uninc, Love, DH or Capita Midlife).  I ride the 152 and weight 155 and can press it without any problems and butter the hell out of it.  Anyone who can’t just lacks the skills plain and simple.  If you find you don’t like the board what you need is more practice, not a new board. Get out there and enjoy it, because it’s an awesome board.

Cheers,

Mike

Mike on December 23, 2011 at 12:05 AM

All that being said I would like to mention that snowboard-review is the ONLY site I find that has reviews even worth reading..so far I have found all of them to be credible enough I can use them to help make my decisions.  Keep up the awesome work lol

Alican on December 23, 2011 at 12:13 AM

Mike thanks alot for your comments i was quite shocked and felt upset about the comments on other forums either. That was what i needed to hear actually. I was afraid if this was only meant for park and not for “do everything” as you are mentioning. Thanks alot again for your help, Ps. This site is actually the top “responsive” site i have ever logged in. Think i will be addicted to here from now on.:)

Rich Ewbank on December 25, 2011 at 09:13 PM

Mike - Thanks for the props.

Agreed, it’s best to look out for the boards that reviewers really love riding and rate highly rather than paying attention to the odd negative review.

david camacho on September 29, 2013 at 05:22 AM

do you still got it in 160?

Connect:

Latest Snowboard News + Features:

Amplid Announces the World’s Lightest Split Posted October 18, 2013 by Rich Ewbank

Snowboard-Review 2014 Gear Preview Posted May 21, 2013 by Rich Ewbank

Spring Break - Test for Yourself Posted March 28, 2013 by Rich Ewbank

The Endeavor Archetype Lab Posted December 21, 2012 by Rich Ewbank

Voile Split Decision Review Posted November 18, 2012 by Rich Ewbank

Venture Euphoria Wins Backcountry Mag Award Posted August 29, 2012 by Rich Ewbank

Sh*t is Hot - 2013 Never Summer Preview Posted August 09, 2012 by Rich Ewbank

Signal ETT Best of Season 2 Posted July 19, 2012 by Rich Ewbank

**************

CLICK FOR MORE SNOWBOARD + FEATURES