Need tips on riding rockered snowboard

duckforest

Snowboard Virgin
Rank
Total Posts: 2 Joined 2011-11-12

Posted: 12 November 2011 04:12 AM

Hi guys,
I’ve been riding cambered boards for close to 7 years now. Last year I decided to buy a Neversummer SL to see what all the rocker / rocker-camber hype was all about and I’ve been having difficulty adjusting to it.

I usually like to carve and go down steeper terrain and putting weight on my nose and initiating turns with my front foot, but I found it wasn’t the same with my new board. I kept washing out on a lot of my turns.

Would anyone have any advice on the adjustments needed to go from Camber to rocker/ rocker-camber?

Thanks for the help!

Rich Ewbank

Administrator
Rich Ewbank Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts: 1567 Joined 2009-03-04

Posted: 12 November 2011 10:13 AM

It didn’t take long for me to adjust to riding hyrbrid cambers if I’m honest but I can certainly understand why it’s happening. Is the wash-out coming from the nose and of the board or is the board flexing too heavily at the waist which is throwing you over the front of the board?

Either way, you need to try and ride with your weight 50:50 over the front and back bindings. If you keep your centre of mass between the bindings then the nose and tail won’t have a chance to wash out. When I started tackling steep terrain I did exactly the same thing to make sure that I committed 100% to initiating the turn through the fall-line in fact I even used to out more forward lean on my front binding to make sure I did it without having to think about it. Too much weight through the front foot and if you hit some slush, ice, pow you’ll be unable to adjust quickly and control your edge. It sounds like riding your new SL is going to benefit your technique a lot… it might take a while to get it but when you do, you’ll be a much stronger rider for it.

Rich

duckforest

Snowboard Virgin
Rank
Total Posts: 2 Joined 2011-11-12