Forum Manual?

Panzerman

Snowboard Virgin
Rank
Total Posts: 2 Joined 2010-11-20

Posted: 20 November 2010 11:03 AM

Hey guys, here’s my situation.. After renting for so many times, I finally decided that I needed a board for this season. I’m a beginner, and I’m looking for a not so expensive board that can basically go wherever I want. I picked up this ‘09 Forum Manual at a nice price at this snow expo. Trouble is, from what I’ve been reading, it seems the Manual is exclusively a jibber’s board, and I wanted more of an all mountain setup. I probably wont venture into the park for a while. I know the manual has lots of flexibility and will make turning a bit easier, but I’m worried that it wont be able to hold an edge very well when carving. I feel that I’ve kind of rushed into buying something I should have researched a bit more. I have another three weeks to return the board.

My Question is, should I return it and seek out another board?

Also, I’m concerned about the snowboard’s length. Its a 153. I’m 5’5 and weigh about 135 lbs.

I’ve had my eye on the Artec Gabe Taylor, as I’ve seen it on sale for a similar price.

Any advice would be appreciated, thanks.

zoryfl

zoryfl Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts: 546 Joined 2009-08-22

Posted: 20 November 2010 03:02 PM

Hey Panzerman,
you’re right, the Manual is definitely a park board for jibbing down the mountain.
The Gabe Taylor surely is a better fit for riding mainly piste and laying down carves. You might also have a look at the Arbor Formula.

Concerning size, I’m 180 and riding a 159 for piste riding so as you are only around 165, 153 might be a bit of a hand full.. I’d probably look for a 148-150..

Cheers, Tobi

buckhillrider

Snowboard Virgin
Rank
Total Posts: 5 Joined 2010-11-21

Posted: 21 November 2010 03:41 AM